January 1, 2013

  • Fuc*ed up Bul*shi*

    Okay, now I’m just going to have to rant about my cousin’s death now.

    I’ve been talking to my cousin Alien (yes Alien) about Ting Shuang’s death. He had no idea, nor did his mother. His mother ends up calling Ting Shuang’s grandma, and it turns out that she has been deceased for THREE to FOUR months. Are you fucking kidding me right now?

    I understand that they wanted to keep her death away from the family for a little while. In Taiwan, it is said that when your child dies, it’s considered very bad luck (obviously). So, the thing is, they don’t tell anyone about it because people don’t want to “catch” their bad luck. But REALLY!? You’re going to keep something like this from your own family? I mean, why wait 3-4 months before telling them?! That is complete and utter bullshit.

    (Btw, I got a little more detail on my cousin’s death. Her and her boyfriend were on a motorcycle, when they had the accident.)

    It’s so infuriating. I feel like such a piece of shit. I feel like, I should have been mourning three to four months ago in respects to my cousin. Not three to four months after it has happened.

    To be honest, I don’t feel sad or depressed. I’m more confused and angry. I mean, I guess I don’t 100% understand Taiwan’s culture. But (before I was born), when my mom’s nephews died at early ages (in their twenties) everyone found at as soon as it happened. If it were delayed, then probably a few days afterwards. I’m just shocked that family would withold information like this for such a long time.

    I mean, what exactly did they think would happen? If people asked about her at a family gathering? Would they act as if she were still alive? Or were they expecting to break the news to everyone then in a nonchalant way? I’m just..I’m at a loss for words. I just don’t know what to think anymore.

    Follow on Bloglovin

Comments (18)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *